DECEMBER FAVORITES

Hello readers,

I am terribly sorry, I accidentally erased this entire post, so now I am going to rewrite it in the hopes that I remember most of what I said in the original.

Here are my December favorites, which are now really quite late. I hope you are all having a wonderful new year and had magical holidays!

1. Jojoba Oil

decfav1 

I have been using this to moisturize my face at night because the winter has really dried out my skin and made it lifeless. I originally bought the oil as an ingredient for a Christmas present I was making, since the recipe didn’t require much oil and I basically had a whole bottle left, when I found out the oil could be used as a moisturizer I was thrilled. It doesn’t leave my face oily and doesn’t really have much of a scent.

2. Media by MAC

decfav2

This is definitely my favorite dark lipstick. I love adding it to feminine or really casual outfits to give them more of a grungy edge. The color is a deep wine, and in a satin finish, it doesn’t dry out your lips. If you are intimidated at first by using such a dark lipstick, blot it with tissue for a more subtle look.

3. Yoga

decfav5

Basically this whole year I have been trying to get myself into yoga, but being at school made it difficult for me to do it consistently. This break I have been trying to do yoga more often. I have been doing the AM session on this DVD, which has some different sun salutations and is really good for stretching your body after sleep and waking you up. I also have the DVD with stress relief and flexibility sessions, and I really like the flexibility poses as they help relax all my muscles and make me feel more prepared to face the day.

4. Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami

decfav6

This book has definitely become my all-time favorite. It only took me a few days to read because I just could not put it down. In a nut shell, it is about a 15-year-old named Kafka and an old man named Nakata, and fate leads them to the same point for reasons neither of them are aware of. But it is really so much more than that. It is surreal and dream-like, but Murakami is gifted at making impossible things seem possible and believable. The book has great character development as well. If you have not read it, read it. Read it. You will not regret it.

5. Journaling

decfav7

Journaling has become a really therapeutic way for me to get to know myself better and to deal with my emotions. I have also been using it to write poems or lists of goals for myself. It is nice to have a place where I can reveal myself without judgment and where I can say whatever I want.

6. “Hunter” by Zoya

decfav8

121

I really love this color. I love a dark nail polish, and I love how this dark green works so well for the autumn and winter (and I will definitely be using it in the spring and summer too). It takes about two coats to get opaque coverage, and with a top coat, it doesn’t chip for about a week.

7. Essential Oils

decfav10

My collection of essential oils is slowly but surely growing. I had to buy a few more to make a sleep salve for my grandma for Christmas (the tutorial is from the Free People blog). As of right now I have Roman chamomile, bergamot, lavender, patchouli, eucalyptus, spearmint and white tea.  I have been using eucalyptus to massage into my head when I have migraines, and I occasionally use the patchouli as a scent on my wrists. Do you have any ideas on more ways that I could use these oils? Let me know in the comments!

8. Lucky Brand Bag

decfav11decfav12

decfav13

 

decfav14

I got this bag for Christmas and it immediately became my new everyday bag. Most of my bags are pretty small crossbody bags, but this one is larger and much more roomy, with four pockets inside and two outside. I’m not usually a fan of studs, but the gold, vintage-y studs on this bag look cool and subtle. I love how the top of it with the handles flops over casually, giving the bag a laid-back vibe. Plus, the strap is adjustable, so I can still carry it crossbody.

Let me know what some of your favorites last month or even this month are!

Love, Lauren

 

Leave a Reply

