UPDATE: Halfway Through the Semester Already?…

Hello readers,

I’m sorry it has been a while since my last post, but I do have a thrift haul/styling post coming up soon as soon as I get all of my new pieces into outfits 🙂 Also, I will have to document for you my styling challenge: I thrifted a dark brown, velvet, long-sleeved, high-necked maxi dress (it was part of a Halloween costume) and I have made a bet with a friend that by two-weeks time I can make that dress look good. I love a good fashion challenge.

Anyways, I can’t believe this semester is almost over. Christmas in less than two months?! Where did this year go? Lately I have been noticing how quickly time seems to pass. My boyfriend and I just celebrated our one-year anniversary, and it astounds me how I can remember the beginning of our relationship as clearly as if it were last week. I feel like I just came to school and set up my room and got used to my classes and now midterms are already done and finals and term papers are looming ahead. A bit scary, to be honest.

Time passing has also been affecting me because in recent weeks I have realized I have no idea what I’m going to do when I graduate. That is over two years away, but freshman year passed in a craze of new friends, new school, new freedom, and now sophomore year is almost halfway done. I feel like I have so many things I still want to learn.

I guess this is a time for reflection. The days are shorter and the nights are darker, putting me in a contemplative mindset. I want to journal more, try meditation as a way to relieve some of my anxiety, and reflect on what I need to improve on to make myself happier. College has been a struggle when it comes to maintaining my happiness as I am overwhelmed a lot of the time and I put way too much pressure on myself, but I have seen myself make significant improvements in the last week and I keep setting goals for myself to be kinder to myself and to let things go. Time is precious and moving swiftly, and I don’t want to waste it in fits of tears and panic attacks. I’m trying to use this funk to learn more about myself and build my confidence back up.

I know this is a different sort of post for me, but I personally love when bloggers give us a glimpse into their worlds beyond their clothes, and I would like to include more update-like posts on the blog if you all enjoy them 🙂

I hope you are all well, let me know if you have been feeling the time crunch too!

-Lauren

Photo: https://www.tumblr.com/search/marnie+the+dog

P.S. Here is a cute picture of Marnie the Dog to put a smile on your face (seriously, her pictures and videos on Instagram are precious)

Leave a Reply

